Listen Live

HomeNewsNelson race: 3 for mayor, 21 for council

Nelson race: 3 for mayor, 21 for council

It will be a three-way race for mayor in Nelson. Voters will also have 20 names to pick from on the ballot.

Incumbent Deb Kozak will face John Dooley again for mayor on Oct. 20. She unseated him in 2014. Also running: Bernie Brown, a Balfour resident who filed papers today.

Pat Severyn, who ran for mayor in 2014, will not be back this time.

Those who have so far filed their nomination papers for council are as follows:

- Advertisement -

(x) denotes incumbent

(y) candidates running under Coalition of Responsible Electors slate

Adams, Bob (x)

Barker, Laureen

Cherbo, Robin (x)

Hauck, Travis (y)

Hillaby, Michelle (y)

Jeanes, Charles

Kalabis, Robbie

Keczan, Heather

Logtenberg, Rick

Morrison, Janice (x)

Page, Keith

Payne, Leslie

Purcell, Anna (x)

Renwick, Cal (y)

Reiner, Joseph

Richichi, Rob

Shields, Brian (y)

Stacey, Marg

Wiggins, Stephanie (y)

Woodward, Jesse

Incumbents Michael Dailly and Valerie Warmington are not seeking re-election.

There were 20 candidates for council in 2002. Among those who ran but didn’t get elected? Deb Kozak and Robin Cherbo.

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading