Graham elected Area E director, Cunningham re-elected in Area G

Regional District of Central Kootenay office in Nelson. (Greg Nesteroff/Vista Radio)

By a nine-vote margin, Cheryl Graham has been elected the new director for Regional District of Central Kootenay Area E (Rural Nelson).

Graham had 425 votes, compared to 416 for runner-up Landon Veregin. Reggie Goldsbury was third with 133 and Dan Rye, an incumbent Castlegar city councillor, was last with 122.

Incumbent Ramona Faust didn’t run for re-election.

The turnout was 33 per cent.

Area E includes communities on the Kootenay Lake Outlet as well as Blewett.

Meanwhile, in Area G (Rural Salmo), the area’s longest-serving politician was re-elected to another term.

- Advertisement -

Hans Cunningham had 224 votes, compared to 190 for Anna Bundschuh. Farrell Segall was a distant third with 13.

Cunningham has served as director continuously since 1987.

Turnout was also 33 per cent.

This story has been updated with the revised voting totals.